Well, hello there

Hello new blog, pleased to meet you. I am a busy vet student and I probably, no, I definitely, have more important thing to do than make a blog, but I’m doing it anyway. I’m a procrastinator. If anyone knows how to cure this, please let me know.

At the moment I’m in 2nd year veterinary. I’m in the middle of my exams, 4 more to go. One of the exams we had was practical animal handling. I got shat on by a hamster!

When my exams are finally finished I’m getting a puppy, a little border terrier guy who we’ve named Grizz…

We went to visit him a few weekends ago, he’s about 3 weeks old in this picture. I’m hoping his escapades will provide lots of material for this blog. We’ll be bringing him home some time around the end of May. I’m Very Very VERY excited!

So excited in fact that today I made some doggy treats, just to practice, y’know? I based them on this recipe http://sharedsugar.com/2009/12/oatmeal-peanut-butter-dog-treats/

Oaty Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits


Ingredients – makes about 40 biscuits

2 tbsp peanut butter

2 tbsp honey

1/2 tbsp olive oil

120ml chicken stock

75g porridge oats

150g Wholewheat flour/plain flour or a mixture of both

Directions

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees. mix together the wet ingredients- peanut butter, honey, oil and chicken stock. In a separate bowl, combine flour and oats. Mix the dry ingredients into wet ingredients to form a dough, add more flour if the mixture is too sticky. Place dough on a floured surface and roll the dough out to about 1cm thick. Use a small bone shaped cookie cutter to cut out biscuits. Put the biscuits on a lined baking tray. Bake for about 14-16 minutes. Transfer to a cooling rack. Feed to well behaved (or not so well behaved) doggies!

They have gone down really well with the two dogs I tested them out on.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

