Tiny little hats

I’m a little late to the game, but I’ve decided to knit some teeny tiny hats for the Innocent smoothie ‘big knit’. The idea is they ask people to knit tiny hats that fit on their smoothie bottles. For each yummy smoothie that is sold wearing a hat they give 25c to the charity Age Action. I think it’s a really fun idea to raise money for a worthy charity.

Irish website link http://www.innocentdrinks.ie/thebigknit/
UK website link http://www.innocentdrinks.co.uk/bigknit/

I have pledged to knit 20 hats, I am doing a lot of sitting around at the moment as I had to have surgery on my leg last Wednesday. So far I’ve knit 4, but the deadline is 10th November, so I better get knitting!

They’re really fun to knit and great for using up scraps, and you even feel good about yourself while doing it as it’s for charity!

The website proved a few hat patterns and there are a few more on Ravelry, but my own imagination has run away with the prospect of being able to knit such fast little projects with such instant gratification. Here is one of the patterns I concocted.

Checkered Pixie Hat

Using 2 colours of sock/baby/4ply yarn (or whatever you want to call it) and 3.5cm needles (that’s US size 4) needles, Cast on 28 sts
Join in round and k 3 rows in k1p1 rib in main colour (MC)
row 4 & 5 (knit 2 sts in CC. knit 2 in MC). repeat till end of row.
row 6 & 7 (knit 2 mc, knit 2 cc) repeat to end of row
repeat rows 4 to 7 two more times
Row 16-(mc) k2tog all the way around (14 sts).
Row 17 (mc) k2tog all the way round (7 sts)
Row 18 (cc) k2tog 3 times, k1(4 sts)
Rows 19 to 28 (cc) knit these 4 stitches as i-cord, changing colour every 2 rows.
row 29 k2tog twice
cast off & weave in ends.

Ravelry link http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/innocent-smoothie-checkered-pixie-hat

For guaranteed laughs take silly photos of family/friends ‘wearing’ hat, by holding it in the foreground and with them in the background, like this- http://www.innocentdrinks.co.uk/bigknit/fun_corner/

If you have any questions about the pattern just ask, and I would really love if you showed me photos if you knit it!

2 thoughts on “Tiny little hats

    • Wow you have a seriously impressive bunch of FO’s! Grizz recently discovered my yarn stash much to its detriment. He decided to ‘decorate’ much of the house with several balls of yarn, and no ordinary acrylic for him, he had to choose the good stuff!! After spending an evening or two untangling I wont make that mistake again!

Leave a comment